Ghost signs, ghost ads & other phantoms
One of the earliest maps of NY Harbor:
TITLE: Manatvs Gelegen op de Noot [sic] Riuier [sic]
(Manhattan Lying on the North River) but with the typo, Manhattan Lying on the Nut (River- misspelled)
CREATOR: Johannes Vinckeboons
Governors Island was called Nut Island (Noot Eÿlant)
In 1892 three brothers owned and operated Schoppenhorst Bros. Laundry and Linen Service in Louisville’s West End. One of the brothers, Edward Schoppenhorst, was the youngest son of Johann Heinrich Wilhelm Schoppenhorst, a German immigrant from Ladbergen, Westfalen. Edward was interested in the “undertaking” business and branched out to establish his own funeral home, which became Schoppenhorst Bros. Funeral Home. The other brothers remained in the laundry business.
Schoppenhorst Bros. Funeral Home located their business in the beautiful, historic 1865 residence built by Captain Kawein, an Ohio River boat captain. The home, at 1832 West Market Street, remains today and features the original glass front door made in France and shipped to Louisville in the 1860s. The eleven foot vintage door showcases a piece of glass from every country in Europe which has been crafted into a distinctive design. – Schoppenhorst Website